PDA

View Full Version : My head is spinning over router table and fence choices.

Herbert Mulqueen
03-03-2009, 12:53 PM
Background: Wife says you need a hobby other than walking dogs and sitting on the couch playing on the internet. Never done any home wood working. A complete novice in home woodworking.

Research on the internet only. No close stores, live 60 miles to a mall.

So I buy a Micro-Fence router system with most of the bells and whistles sight unseen except for the videos. www.microfence.com It came last week and I have yet to get the Bosch PR-20 1 hp 1/4 inch router for the "3 Axis Mill". I kinda understand the Micro-fence concepts. MF was a quick and easy decision. My intention is to use 1/4 router and learn about router bit types and dust control.

Planning for a router table system, in two months. This is where the confusion comes to play. SMC has been wonderful and a great source of information. But a system overload to my poor addled brain, so much information to process.

Researched the following: aluminum, MDF and phenolic table tops.Fences from Woodpecker new super fence, Incra, Jessem, Jointech and CMT.

What I am saying for a novice just getting into home woodworking is there a
major difference between these systems? Is one system worth two to three times more than a simple system. Is steel top vs alum vs phenolic vs mdf worth the difference to a novice.

For example does selecting a table top from one manufacturer, a fence from another and a stand from another make sense?

Or?

Does just getting something like a Kreg system delivered for under $500 us dollars give the best bang for the dollar? Find out what is needed and eventually move up if that system is lacking.

Are we all having a philosophy discussion on how many angels sit on the head of a pin. Or do the perceived marketing benefits justify the cost to a novice?