PDA

View Full Version : Newbie shop setup

Elijah Neal
03-02-2009, 11:22 PM
Hello. I am just getting into recreational woodworking and have a question on what to include in my initial shop setup. I will be buying exclusively S4S, at least initially. With this in mind, how important are a planer and jointer? I am not opposed to buying them, and can budget accordingly if needed. But, I am wondering how much you find yourself using these tools on builds using pre-surfaced lumber. Would my initial budget be better spent on something else (bandsaw, $1000 table saw instead of $700, or just more wood)? Thanks in advance!

keith ouellette
03-03-2009, 12:07 AM
I only use s4s a couple of times. It may be surfaced on all four but that does not mean it stays straight after it is surfaced.

The s4s I bought was the same thickness through out but that may not always be the case.

Exact thickness is very important in glue ups and joints and that can not happen without a flat face from the jointer so it can then be run through the planer. A glued up panel will not be at its best if it does not have straight edged wood.

Some sanding can make up less than perfect thickness throughout but I would invest in some kind of jointer for edge jointing. A little 4" delta would be good enough to start if you are on a budget.

A lot of it depends on your total investment as to which way you could be advised and I'm sure opinions would very quite a bit.

I am still rather new to wood working myself. Only a couple of years in without getting much "actual time" to work so far.

I will say this. you can save money by surfacing your own wood.

I almost forgot. A router and router table are very important and you can use a router for edge jointing till you get a larger jointer. It may even do it better than a 4" jointer if the table and fence are good. So far I would place the router as the second most important tool and probably the most fun to use.

glenn bradley
03-03-2009, 12:14 AM