PDA

View Full Version : Honing Guides Help

Matt Woessner
03-02-2009, 9:57 PM
I tried to find this in the search with no luck, and I am sure this has been covered a thousand times. I am looking for a honing guide to use with my waterstones. I am looking at the Veritas Sharpening System. Is this a good guide? Are there better ones for less money? I would like to stay in the $50 range. Any input would be great as I am new in the world of sharpening hand tools. Thanks for all the help in advance.

Tri Hoang
03-02-2009, 10:21 PM
I had both the Veritas Sharpening System and the Veritas MK II guide. I think the MK II guide is much nicer.

jerry nazard
03-02-2009, 10:25 PM
I recently bought a used General honing guide for a few bucks. That's really all it is worth. I would not recommend the General.

George Clark
03-02-2009, 10:47 PM
Matt,

I have tried several honing guides. The Veritas Mk.II is my absolute favorite, hands down. A quality product and definitely the easiest for me to keep square with the blade.

George

Danny Thompson
03-02-2009, 11:25 PM
Another vote for the Veritas Mk.II.

If you need to go cheaper, you could try the Side Clamping Honing Guide sold by Lie Nielsen ($14). According to the site, this guide is based on the discountinued Eclipse guide. In Popular Woodworking's Hand Tool Essentials, I think David Charlesworth recommends the Eclipse guide primarily because its smaller wheel allows for easy cambering.

Joel Goodman
03-03-2009, 12:22 AM
The Elipse style of guide will work fine. They are inexpensive (LN $14 as well as many other places) -- but you need to make a jig to help you set the iron consistently. You need a setting on the jig for your bevel and for a microbevel. LN's website gives you approximate distances for each angle. For the jig look at Derek Cohen's website: http://www.inthewoodshop.com/WoodworkTechniques/The%2010%20Cent%20Sharpening%20System.html