PDA

View Full Version : Bowl Turning- Mission Work

Paul Rains
03-02-2009, 10:18 AM
Here are some pictures of a recent mission trip I was Blessed to go on. I taught some of the Nicarauguans in Costa Rica how to turn bowls and key chains. They have two WORN delta midi lathes. We also salvaged and repaired small desk for Sunday school classes.
We are always looking for woodturners to join me on the next trip down! :) I plan to go back in July to build cabinets for nutrition center and to do some more bowls, it's hard to teach when you speak NO spanish:rolleyes:

I am not sure what kind of wood we turned, they grow trees for fence post down there, this is one of those type of trees, it was very similiar to poplar, but very heavy dense wood, it turned fairly easy. I took chunk out of bow edge, when worn out tool rest slipped.
see pics on zip file, I hope they came thru alright, I am new at this.

David Christopher
03-02-2009, 12:32 PM
Paul, those are some good looking bowls and for a good cause..keep up the good work....wish I could go but Im on active duty right now and cant but maybe next year

Thomas Canfield
03-02-2009, 1:23 PM
Paul,

That sounds like an incredible mission trip to be able to do both cabinet work and teach turning. I have found that 4 words do a lot to get work done along with some gestures with my very limited Spanish:
1. Aqui (here)
2. Aya (there)
3. Bueno (good)
4. No bueno ( no good)

OK that is 5 words, and my speling is not probably right, but you get the message. The big thing is doing it with a willing heart and working attitude. There is a lot to be learned from them also in their culture and work habits.

Paul Rains
03-02-2009, 1:32 PM
I have lived most of my life in SE KY, so there are people here in Lexington sometimes who say....ungh to my dialect? :D

the students that went with us on this last trip laughed at me, they said my spanish is me saying it again LOUDER and more animated! LOL.
Must be football coach in me!