PDA

View Full Version : About how many board feet?

Shawn Stennett
03-01-2009, 11:17 PM
About how many board feet would it take to build something close to this?

http://www.lafuente.com/images/main/lib13.jpg (javascript:popUpWindow('http://www.lafuente.com/enlarge.php?pid=139&win=650|388', '650', '388')) 43" w x 74" h x 16" d

I am not experienced in estimating board feet.

Thanks for any help.

Jason Beam
03-01-2009, 11:44 PM
Not to be a smarty pants, but giving you the answer isn't gonna get you more experienced :D

Teach a man to fish, and all that, right? :P

Plan it out - figure out each part and its dimensions. That'll give you your total BF. But really, in the end, BF is not quite enough if you're after good grain selection and making the best looking parts possible. You might burn through a bit more boards to get parts with the right grain selection (straight on rails/stiles, pretty on panels, etc). That'll come with experience, too, though.

Best answer: Do the math - take each part and come up with its dimensions.

The total board feet can and does vary greatly depending on joinery as well - if you're doing all through tenons or half laps or bridle joints, those little slots and tabs start to add up quick compared to just doweling everything together, know what I mean?

Take your plans and add it up. If you don't have any plans, draw some up using pencil/paper or a program you're comfortable with (i do everything in SketchUp - google's FREE drawing program). It works real well for visualizing how the things will fit together as a bonus :)

Jim Kountz
03-02-2009, 8:43 AM
Yep what Jason said....

Prashun Patel
03-02-2009, 8:53 AM
Board feet are measured cubically, where 1BF = 144 cubic inches.

12"x12"x1" = 1 BF.
So, 6"x12"x2" = 1 BF.

For your project, I'd count on 1" rough stock for the whole thing.