PDA

View Full Version : ideal dove tail cutting height

Steven McLeavin
03-01-2009, 7:18 PM
is there an ideal height to keep the workpiece when hand cutting dovetails? I'm 5'10". thank!

Matt Edwards
03-01-2009, 7:32 PM
In my limited experience, I would say it would be up to the individual.

I made a work support that clamps into my end vice and elevates the piece up to about 54". I've been practicing a lot, and stooping over and sitting down just wasn't working for me. I'm 6' 2", and my back would be killing me after about 20 mins. As a side benefit, I can saw much more accurate since I made the booster vice.

HTH
Matt

I'm comming to terms with a new PC, if I reach an agreement with the photo software, I'll post a pic.

John Keeton
03-01-2009, 7:34 PM
Steven, I am just a beginner at this, but seems that in order to control the saw, the workpiece would need to be approximately elbow high - such that the arm pivots at the shoulder and remains level through the cut. Just my thought - others with more experience may have a better idea.

Mac Houtz
03-03-2009, 2:16 PM
I am also little more than a beginner, but I will give you my own experience for what its worth...
I built a large workbench myself some years ago, and I had the height just about right. Then I added casters to it and forgot to trim the legs prior to doing so. The result is that my bench is about four inches higher than the recommended height for a workbench, whatever that may be. Since I am 5'9", This proves frustrating for certain things, but not for dovetails. Last fall I made a cherry cradle for my daughter, and it involved handcutting about 36-40 pins and tails. Then entire time I was chopping I (my lower vertebrae mostly) was thanking my lucky stars that I was not having to bend or lean over a bench to do that work. My neck hurt bad enough.

I think it all comes down to how you are comfortable working.

Michael Sobik
03-03-2009, 2:47 PM