PDA

View Full Version : Resawing 2" stock

Prashun Patel
02-26-2009, 7:46 PM
I just got a 13"x40" slab of walnut that's 2" thick.
I'd like to have it resawn into bookmatched 7/8" pieces. Is this an easy enough operation to do or will I end up under 7/8"?

I've no experience with resawing, so I'd have it done at a real mill.

David Christopher
02-26-2009, 7:55 PM
Shawn, thats a easy enough task...I bet if you would ask one of the creekers near by would do it for you if you dont have the resourses

Tom Veatch
02-26-2009, 8:00 PM
Hard to say with 100% certainty.

If the stock is a true 2", you can lose as much as 1/4" to the saw kerf and cleanup and still have 7/8" left in each piece. If the cut is straight, true and on centerline, the stock isn't too badly cupped or bowed, and movement after the cut isn't too drastic, you have an excellent chance of meeting your goal. The less critical the 7/8" dimension, the better your chances. Probably best to talk with whoever you want to do the cut with the stock in hand.

Jamie Buxton
02-26-2009, 10:57 PM
I wouldn't count on getting 7/8". The issue is that the wood may have built-in stresses in it, so when it is cut apart, the two halves may have twist or cup or bow or some combination. You'll likely have to reflatten the boards. With boards 13" wide, it won't take much twist or cup to eat into your thickness budget.

Jim Kountz
02-27-2009, 1:57 AM
I just did some walnut that was a hair under 2" right about 1 15/16 actually and was able to get 7/8" with no problem. The piece was about 10" wide and almost 5 feet long. Did it on my Grizz G513X2

Rick Fisher
02-27-2009, 2:31 AM
To bad your not on the Island Shaun, I would gladly cut it for you.

Later..

Okay.. your not the guy I know in Vancouver.. lol..

Wrong Island..

But.. if you decide to travel 4000 miles, to Vancouver Island.. I will gladly cut it for you.. lol..

Prashun Patel
02-27-2009, 8:07 AM