PDA

View Full Version : 220v electrical question

Ron Bott
02-26-2009, 11:51 AM
I'm working on a wiring diagram for my new shop setup. I have two pieces of equipment that run on 220. My tablesaw & jointer/planer. Is it possible to have a dual outlet for 220v plugs like that of a standard 110v outlet? For example I can plug the J/P plug into one receptacle and the tablesaw into the other. Obviously they would not both be running at the same time.

Lee Schierer
02-26-2009, 12:13 PM
From a code standpoint, I don't think that is allowed because someone could run both at the same time and overload the circuit. I know people have done similar things in their one man shops.

Mike Henderson
02-26-2009, 12:14 PM
I'm not a code expert, but I believe it is allowed to have multiple 220V outlets on a single circuit. But you're probably not going to find a duplex outlet - you'll probably have to use two boxes.

If duplex outlets exist, someone will post a pointer to them. And one of the code experts will post soon on the code aspects, I'm sure.

Mike

Rob Russell
02-26-2009, 12:20 PM
Ron - what you want to do is fine.

Lee - there's nothing in the code that would prevent that. As long as the breaker is sized to protect the conductors, you can generally plug as many loads into the circuit as you want. If you try to pull more current than the circuit is sized for, the breaker will simply trip.

You should be able to find a duplex 240v outlet at a big box store. If not, any electrical supply house will have them.

Ken Higginbotham
02-26-2009, 12:25 PM
I would think an over/under set of outlets would/could cause an issue getting the plugs in because of the cords. Maybe a side by side of single outlets would be a better idea - ?

Rob Russell
02-26-2009, 12:28 PM
I would think an over/under set of outlets would/could cause an issue getting the plugs in because of the cords. Maybe a side by side of single outlets would be a better idea - ?