PDA

View Full Version : Is this load of wood to heavy for the wall?

keith ouellette
02-25-2009, 7:41 PM
I have been asked to ask all of you if this is to heavy for my lumber rack.

The wall is a 2x4 frame made with 10' studs and a double top plate. The wall is anchored to the slab with 8" bolts (set in the concrete) and has hurricane strapping at the top and bottom of each stud. The outside is sheathed with 5/8 plywood and the inside is sheathed with 1/2" osb. The racks are secured with 3"x3/8 lag bolts. 3 on each rack (top bottom and middle).

Someone thinks its going to fall on me so I agreed to get some educated opinions to be safe.

Kevin Groenke
02-25-2009, 7:53 PM
I don't think it's too heavy for the wall, but it might be pushing the limits of the shelf brackets.

Scott Wigginton
02-25-2009, 7:55 PM
I say yes but I'm no structural engineer.

One way to beef it up to make the old lady feel better is to extend the rear rails to the slab. This will then bear the vertical load and the walls will only have the shear stress.

Hopefully someone with some authority in structural loads can chime in.

Scott Wigginton
02-25-2009, 7:58 PM
I don't think it's too heavy for the wall, but it might be pushing the limits of the shelf brackets.

I believe the ones he is using is rated at 300 lbs at the tip (or 600 lbs evenly distributed), doesn't look like he has half a ton on any pair of brackets (he has several tiers, hard to see 'cause of how crammed in it is)

keith ouellette
02-25-2009, 8:02 PM

The shelf brackets are pretty thick. I think they are the ones from shop fox.

John Shuk
02-25-2009, 8:03 PM
Those shelf brackets are the exact same type we use in manholes for holding communications cables. They are extremely strong. In any given manhole they are holding multiple lead sheathed cables that are very very heavy. I wouldn't be too concerned about overloading the brackets.
Can't speak to the wall though.

keith ouellette
02-25-2009, 8:04 PM