PDA

View Full Version : Would this be an upgrade or a lateral move?

Mike Hess
02-25-2009, 2:10 PM
For my jointing and planing tasks I'm currently using a 4" Shopsmith jointer on a SS power station and a Grizzley 12" lunchbox. Now, before you scoff at me - let me tell you that I'm a weekend woodworker at best, and that space is a real concern. However, even for my modest needs, this is a sub-optimal setup. The 4" jointer width is woefully inadequate, and the planer snipes 2-3" on anything I feed it, even with infeed/outfeed roller stands and light passes. I'm considering selling off this gear and picking up a Jet 707410. This would probably be a break-even proposition cost-wise (or I might even end up a few bucks in the black), I'd lose 2" of planing capacity but pick up 6" of jointing capacity.

http://www.toolking.com/jet_707410_10_inch_jointer_planer_combo_with_stand .aspx

Would this be an upgrade, or a lateral move?

Paul Johnstone
02-25-2009, 4:11 PM
For my jointing and planing tasks I'm currently using a 4" Shopsmith jointer on a SS power station and a Grizzley 12" lunchbox. Now, before you scoff at me - let me tell you that I'm a weekend woodworker at best, and that space is a real concern. However, even for my modest needs, this is a sub-optimal setup. The 4" jointer width is woefully inadequate, and the planer snipes 2-3" on anything I feed it, even with infeed/outfeed roller stands and light passes. I'm considering selling off this gear and picking up a Jet 707410. This would probably be a break-even proposition cost-wise (or I might even end up a few bucks in the black), I'd lose 2" of planing capacity but pick up 6" of jointing capacity.

http://www.toolking.com/jet_707410_10_inch_jointer_planer_combo_with_stand .aspx

Would this be an upgrade, or a lateral move?