PDA

View Full Version : Embarassing question about how to use a band saw...

Rick Cicciarelli
02-24-2009, 4:17 PM
So I don't have much experience with band saws, but being that they seem to be pretty key with furniture makers I'd certainly like to get my skills up to where they should be.
The issues I've run into with my past experiences is wandering blades. How the heck is someone supposed to make a straight cut with a band saw blade...I know it can be done as I've seen people cutting through some pretty thick lumber with these things. I am sure it has to do with machine setup.
Can someone give me some tips and pointers on what I should be checking to make sure the saw is setup correctly to prevent this wandering blade problem? What would be the cause of this?

Karlan Talkington
02-24-2009, 4:20 PM
I am by no means an expert, more amateur like yourself but what I have seen done is running a piece scrap through the bandsaw and measuring the drift of the blade and then making the same adjustments to the fence to produce a "straight" cut on the stock.

Hope that helps.

mike holden
02-24-2009, 4:25 PM
Rick,
Bandsaws are deceptively simple machines.
Suggest that you go to your library and get the "bandsaw book" by Duginske, there is also a related video by Taunton Press.

In the meantime, read the owners manual and make sure your bandsaw is properly setup and then make a test cut and set the "drift" of your blade.
Be aware that this drift setting is ONLY for that blade and if you remove the blade and put it back on, you will likely have a different "drift"

Basically you take a square board, with a line marked parallel with one edge, and put it partway through the bandsaw. You will note that to follow the line, your board will not be parallel with the edge of the table, this angle is the "drift". Stop your saw, and WITHOUT moving the board, align your fence to the edge of the board.