PDA

View Full Version : A chuck for the Jet JML-1014I

Dave Crowder
02-21-2009, 6:37 PM
Good evening,

I just unpacked my brand new toy. I have very little experience in turning, but I took a pen turning class at Woodcraft, and that did it. I'll start with pens and small bowls, and take it from there.

Can the more experienced turners make a recommendation as to what chuck I should buy?

Thanks!

Dave
Centreville, VA

David Christopher
02-21-2009, 7:51 PM
Dave, I have one of the woodcraft scroll chucks and it does a good job and its only $84..... BTW congrats on the new toy. im sure you will enjoy it but WE NEED PICS

ROY DICK
02-21-2009, 8:00 PM
http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/store/Chucks?Args=

I have the Oneway Talon and strong hold chuck, but also the Apprentice whick IMHO, is a good quality check with all the jaws. Just be sure no matter which one you decide be sure to also order the proper insert to fit your head stock. Hav e fun, be careful.

And keep asking questions.

Roy

Mark Waltrip
02-21-2009, 10:26 PM
Dave, I have one of the woodcraft scroll chucks and it does a good job and its only $84..... BTW congrats on the new toy. im sure you will enjoy it but WE NEED PICS

X2

Like you, I am very inexperienced in turning as well, and the great people on this forum have been a great help thus far.

I bought the "Woodriver" 4-Jaw chuck from Woodcraft this past week, and it has been a joy to use. It's the Woodcraft house brand, and the best thing is that you don't have to break the bank to buy it. Also, the jaws are as good as the other brands and they are only $20 a set or so.

I did a lot of hands on product comparisons and found a lot of things out that I wouldn't have known otherwise.

I compared the Woodriver chuck jaws to the Teknatool jaws for the Nova series and found them to be the exact same jaw. I'm not insinuating anything, but found it to be a relief that the Woodriver brand appeared to be as durable as the Teknatool by a hands on approach.