PDA

View Full Version : Retirement on hold?

Kev Godwin
02-19-2009, 10:30 PM
This week I was talking to my uncle who is nearing the time he wants to retire and he informed me he had to change his long desired plans. With the big downturn in the investment markets, he said he has to continue to keep working so that he can even think about retiring some time in the future. I can't help but believe this is the case for many other people that were approaching their awaited retirement.

On the other side of this coin is one of my nieces that is a recent college graduate. She can hardly even find somewhere to even interview even with an excellent GPA in an engineering major.

I can't help but wonder if the older workers are not moving out due to financial reasons and thus middle and lower working positions can't move up. Thus, the new workers can't enter the workforce since there are no openings at the lower entry levels.

I am not an economics expert but I can't help but think this must have some contribution to increased unemployment rates we hear about every darn day. My guess is the rising unemployment rate is partly due to more people needing to work compared to just about 18 months ago. My guess is many people didn't have to continue working if they had their assets from before the melt-down.

My slow logic tells me unemployment is rising in part because more people need to work, but just can't find any (the workforce is larger). I know this isn't the sole or only reason but I think it may be part of it.

Can some some Wall Street Journal reader enlighten me?
Kev

Ken Fitzgerald
02-19-2009, 10:57 PM
Kevin....this could be an interesting discussion but historically there are a number of folks here who can't keep politics out of this type of discussion. Good luck!