PDA

View Full Version : Lasering on Micarta

Linda Kroeker
02-18-2009, 4:06 PM
Good afternoon everyone,
Hope you can help...I'm still pretty new at this lasering stuff, wondering if
anyone has ever lasered a checker or diamond pattern on Micarta???
I may have a job lasering this material for knife handles...if its possible to do?
I've never used the 3d mode on my Helix 45 laser...would it be just like doing this on the wood gun handles like on the Epilog website...its not very
detailed on how to acually do the job layout.
I think most of it depends on the diamond layout in corel with the different graytones...somethink new to learn.
Thank you for any help you can provide. This site is the best!

Bruce Volden
02-18-2009, 5:44 PM
Linda.

Micarta lasers very well!!! I like the ivory (eggshell?) color for the look of faux scrimshaw. I buy the sheets from Jantz, they laser easily and also cut (somewhat easily-maybe 2 passes on 1/8" with my 35 W machine) nice.

You can colorfill and that also takes well. I often use it for inlay purposes.

Bruce

Linda Kroeker
02-18-2009, 6:23 PM
Thank you Bruce...They want me to put a diamond pattern that looks 3d on the material...
so now I have to learn how to do this 3d look in corel...always something new to learn. Any advice on how to do this in corel x3?

Bruce Volden
02-19-2009, 8:57 AM