PDA

View Full Version : Tax ID

Kevin Baker
02-16-2009, 5:27 PM
Hi Everyone!

I'm still pretty new to all of this, but have hopes of making money one day with this laser. I have a JDS about 2 hours from me and purchasing from them would have advantages. However, we all know they want the Tax ID or they won't sell.

I see were I can get my Tax ID online, but since it's only me and I don't have any real income yet, is getting this Tax ID going to be a pain in the butt next year at tax time??

Thanks for the help,
Kevin

Joe Pelonio
02-16-2009, 5:42 PM
What they are looking for is a state sales tax ID. This is to sell to you wholesale, without charging sales tax, which you are responsible for collecting and sending to your state. You don't have to show a profit to keep it, just that you are making an effort to do business. That's to prevent people from avoiding sales tax by pretending to be a business when they are not. Depending on the state revenue department they will expect monthly or quarterly reports and checks from you once you get the license.

Kevin Baker
02-16-2009, 5:58 PM
Joe -

More to it than I thought... I think...

So by getting a Tax ID for my business means I have to do something with the state as well?? I live in SC.

I don't want to mess with monthly/quarterly reports if I can help it.

Thanks,
Kevin

Dave Johnson29
02-16-2009, 6:13 PM
So by getting a Tax ID for my business means I have to do something with the state as well?? I live in SC.

Ahhh, Government and reports. Hand in hand stuff. :D

In AZ they call it the Transaction Privilege Tax Number. It means you have to charge Sales Tax on what you sell in your State. Then Monthly or Annually depending on Dollars collected, you fill in a form and send them the form and the money collected for them.