PDA

View Full Version : Wixey on a Woodmaster

David L. Anthony
02-13-2009, 9:40 PM
Anyone put a Wixey planer height gauge on a Woodmaster 718? I have a Woodmaster height gauge and it has to go!! Worst $50 I ever spent :mad:.

BTW, I just replaced the stock belts with a link belt. Best $25 I ever spent :D.

Dave

Bob Falk
02-13-2009, 10:23 PM
see thread below. I can send you more pics, if needed. bob

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?p=1036887#poststop

Jim Dailey
02-14-2009, 1:06 PM
Dave,

The "worst $50 I ever spent"....

Was it the Woodmaster digital gauge you referring too...? I've thought about getting a pair of these for both my Woodmaster planer & Woodmaster drum sander.

I'd like to hear your feed back.

Thanks, jim

Neal Clayton
02-14-2009, 3:03 PM
i have woodmaster's on my planer, don't have any problems with it?

Don L Johnson
02-14-2009, 3:12 PM
I have the one that came with my Woodmaster drum sander. After replacing the batteries, I can only get it to work if the height guage shows a minus in front of the number.

Neal Clayton
02-14-2009, 3:21 PM
don, when you replace the batteries it 'zeroes' itself. you'd need to set the machine to its max depth, set the gauge to that on the positive side, and then the number should get smaller, toward zero, as you go back up.

David L. Anthony
02-14-2009, 7:06 PM
I find the Woodmaster gauge to need constant readjustment, and not all that accurate. I have changed batteries so that's not the problem. I still need to check all my planed stock with my Wixey digital caliper while planing stock down to make sure it's the thickness the gauge says it is. If I don't have to reinvent the wheel to much, and with Bob Falks help, I am going to install the Wixey. Hopefully the Wixey will be what I thought the Woodmaster should be.

Dave

Bob Falk
02-14-2009, 8:24 PM