PDA

View Full Version : Worried about installing a mortise lock

Tom Jones III
02-13-2009, 9:36 AM
I'm building a new entry door and in researching door knobs it appears that the mortise style locksets are superior. I would like to install one in my new door, but everyone seems to comment about how hard they are to install. The reputation seems to be that an amateur could never do it and a professional will have a hard time.

I'm new to the whole thing but it seems like people are having trouble making a 4" deep mortise. Is that the entire problem or is there something else? The style is 5.25" wide so I should have enough room. I have not glued up the door yet so that may make it even easier to set the lock, would you set the lock before or after the door is glued up? Also, should I attempt to reuse the existing bolt hole in the door frame?

george wilson
02-13-2009, 9:44 AM
We made 4" deep mortises in Williamsburg often. I recommend you drill a string of 4" deep holes across the mortise-to-be,and chisel out the waste. If a pro would have a hard time doing it,how did all those doors ever get installed on site? There is a special bent chisel called a swan neck,that is bent at the end to help lever chips out,though I never used one.

Craig McCormick
02-13-2009, 9:46 AM
I have been watching another tradesman on our current jobsite mortise 9 doors yesterday with a spade bit and a chisel. He used his trim router for the recess that the face plate sits in. He made it look pretty easy. No jigs or guides.

Craig McCormick

David Keller NC
02-13-2009, 9:57 AM
"The reputation seems to be that an amateur could never do it and a professional will have a hard time."

Horsehockey. Full mortise door locks are pretty easy, as locks go. One of the reasons is that you can just set the lock in the door in your shop, then hang it, and use the door lock bolt to indent the door frame where the strike plate will go.