PDA

View Full Version : Vinegar for Rust Removal - how long?

Brian Kent
02-12-2009, 3:40 PM
I am soaking an old, rusty hacksaw in some vinegar to clean it up. I have never tried vinegar before, so am I watching this for minutes, hours, or days?

The rust is enough to stop any parts from moving, but not a left-in-the-rain-for-years kind of rust.

Justin Green
02-12-2009, 3:56 PM
I've had luck after 24 hours on surfaces, but on stuck threads and pieces not fully exposed, not so much luck - maybe 50-50 on wether it will free the moving parts.

I bought a gallon of Evaporust and that stuff is pretty impressive, AND you just leave the stuff out and it works for multiple tools and has a decent shelf life once opened.

With either method - the vinegar or the Eveporust - it helps to take the part out after a few hours and brush the gunk off to expose the next layer of rust, if any.

Anyways, that's been my experience on the 5 or so hand planes and all of their parts that I've cleaned...

Richard Dooling
02-12-2009, 3:59 PM
I just started using Evapo Rust and I'm very impressed.

Brian Kent
02-12-2009, 4:14 PM
I just took it out and brushed off enough rust to take it apart. It appears to be loosening up the rust enough. I can see the logo now: Goodell Pratt Company Greenfield Mass USA.

The grip washed up nicely and is drying out before I oil and wax it.

Matt Ranum
02-12-2009, 7:02 PM
I am soaking an old, rusty hacksaw in some vinegar to clean it up. I have never tried vinegar before, so am I watching this for minutes, hours, or days?

The rust is enough to stop any parts from moving, but not a left-in-the-rain-for-years kind of rust.

What I've done is to brush off the loose stuff, let it soak for several hours and brush it hard with a brass brush if its still rusty leave it soak then another 8-12 and brush again. I've never had to go more than 24 hours though.

Gary Herrmann
02-12-2009, 8:57 PM