PDA

View Full Version : Rookie Question.

Mark Waltrip
02-10-2009, 1:00 AM
I'm sorry that I'm bothering you all with my rookie questions, but I need a little advice since I'm brand new to turning and don't have anyone locally to help. I've been wanting to learn how to turn for awhile now, and the wife just bought me a new Jet JWL-1236 for Christmas that I just assembled last week. So, if you all could please be patient and answer some questions it would be greatly appreciated.

Before I start my headstock & tailstock taper are both MT-2.

1) What type of tool do I need to drill a hole through the center of a piece I have turned? Would it be a tailstock tool or a head stock tool?

2) What tool would I need in order to tap a piece of copper?

3) Finally, are all woodturning lathe chucks generic in the sense that the headstock and tailstock taper are irrelevant?

That's all I will ask for now. Sorry for the questions, but I'm completely 'green' when it comes to lathes.

Dewey Torres
02-10-2009, 1:03 AM
Welcome the the Creek!~

I am new too (2 weeks now) so I will let the pros answer and they will. Good to have you on board.

alex carey
02-10-2009, 1:21 AM
First off welcome to the forum. Trust me you are bothering no one. We love answering question.

1. This is what you need. You put it in the tailstock. I think your morse taper size is #2 but I'm not sure.
http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=683&filter=lathe

2. no idea but im sure about 25 people will chime in on this.

3. The tailstock does not matter in any sense but the headstock spindle nose does matter. Your lathe has a 1" by 8tpi. So when you buy a chuck you also have to buy an adaptor that fits your lathe. The morse taper does not matter.

Hope this helps. Keep the questions coming no matter what they are and no matter how dense you think they are. We love answering them. :)

Alex

Steve Schlumpf
02-10-2009, 7:39 AM
Mark - Welcome to the Creek!