PDA

View Full Version : Large Bowl Blank

Thomas Canfield
02-08-2009, 9:37 PM
Getting a Powermatic 3520B offers the ability to turn larger bowls, but getting a blank is not that easy. My neighbor finally agreed to have the large Sweet Gum tree on our property line cut down 1-20-09, and large sections of wood became available. This is my first attempt at anything this big, and it all went well. I trimmed with my 14" chain saw some and it was fairly balanced when I put it on the lathe and could be turned at about 200 rpm with no vibration. My wife was impressed. It only took about 2 hours after getting the blank mounted, 1 hour for each inside and outside. The rough turned bowl blank , 17" dia, 6 1/2 H x 1.75" Tk weighed 19.87 pounds and has been sealed and put aside to air dry for quite some time. It definitely was wet, but sap was down when cut. I will weigh it again late this summer and track when to work on trying to turn it again. I do have several more pieces of the Sweet Gum that are even larger, but I am not sure about trying that yet.

Craig Powers
02-08-2009, 9:58 PM
Looks great. I've got some sweetgum that also had the dark heart almost all the way through that came out of Nacogdoches county. I've put a piece on my 3520 as well. Beautiful stuff. I think it often gets overlooked.
One of the turners on this site turned a hat out of it.
Here's a link: http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=99657

Jim Kountz
02-08-2009, 10:42 PM
Looking good there Thomas!! I just recently started turning some larger blanks myself and it is quite rewarding isnt it!!

Eric Magruder
02-08-2009, 11:40 PM
Great job Thomas.