PDA

View Full Version : Reviews of JET 707410 10" Jointer/Planer Combo?

Greg L. Brown
02-08-2009, 2:40 PM
I'm in need of a jointer. I already have a 12" Delta lunchbox planer, but I've been holding off on the jointer for a while because they are sort of pricey. I'm newer to woodworking, and I don't want to spend a ton of money on tools. I had my mind pretty much made up on the Ridgid 6" jointer (despite the warnings to skip the 6" and get an 8"), but then I came across the new Jet 10" Jointer/Planer combo unit (707410).

I searched all over the 'net and couldn't find any solid reviews on it (probably because it's so new). Did anyone take the plunge and get this new Jet combo tool? Does anyone have any opinions on the Jet 10" Jointer/Planer combo unit (707410). Here's a link: http://woodworking.jettools.com/Products.aspx?Part=707410

It has it's drawbacks (universal motor and small table), but the price is nearly irresistable at $419 and I'm just a light weekend woodworker. The other combo units (Grizzly 10") are way too expensive for me. And an 8" stand-alone jointer is also out of my price range. I've been looking on Craigslist for honestly about a year (on and off) and have yet to find a decent used 8" (I live in the Chicago area).

I'm a bit tight on space, so a combo unit would be nice. I'd also sell my 12" Delta planer, so the Jet combo unit would probably only cost me around $300.

Thanks,
Greg

Dewey Torres
02-08-2009, 2:47 PM
Greg,
Not a review but an observation on that machine. The bed looks to be on the short side and well stepping down to a 10 inch planer for you may have you wishing you spent more money on one of the bigger combo machines.

Peter Scoma
02-08-2009, 3:04 PM
I know everyones anti-6in jointer but I purchased the G0452 for my 100sq ft shop and really like it. Its currently on sale right now as well.

PS

Ron Bontz
02-08-2009, 5:09 PM