PDA

View Full Version : I'm gonna need an intervention

John Adam
02-08-2009, 12:13 AM
Guys,

Just getting started...went to my first ww show today...

I've never used a plane before, and have some inexpensive bench planes that are still in the box waiting for my workshop to be completed. I was told that with the proper tuning and care, they'd work fine....

One of the displays at the show had a nice set of japanese planes - one pull and I was hooked. Little paper thin shavings that I wanted to take home!!!

First - I may take back my power jointer/planer. No way I'd get that same feeling wearing goggles, hearing protection and push blocks!

Second - does anyone have strong feelings about planing on the pull rather than push? The planer I used was $35 and frankly felt better than the $200 planer I tried at the Lee Valley booth a bit later. Also, the little wood plane seemed a lot easier to tune up that a full metal plane. A bit of sandpaper and the bottom would be smooth!

I'd love to hear the cave men talk....

James Owen
02-08-2009, 2:24 AM
....I'd love to hear the cave men talk....

John,

Welcome to the slippery slope! And here's a healthy shove [PUSH, PUSH] to help you over the edge..... :-)

First question: Hand planes are my favorite tools. To my mind, there really is nothing quite like the "schwisch" of a fine shaving coming off a board and the polished marble finish left by a finely-tuned plane!! As a dedicated true Neanderthal, my comment absolutely has to be nothing other than: by all means, take the tailed apprentice back, get a refund, and use the dinero to buy some more fine-quality Neander tools!!!