PDA

View Full Version : Wood Carver's Supply

Bill Keehn
02-07-2009, 12:32 PM
I'm pretty new to carving. I've been getting a catalog from Wood Carver's Supply. Some of the stuff looks pretty interesting, but most of what they have are brands I'm not familiar with. Anybody here bought from them?

They carry Lamp brand carving gouges. Again, they look like decent tools, but I'm not familiar with them. Anybody use them?

David Keller NC
02-08-2009, 11:19 AM
Bill - I've never even heard of "lamp" brand, and I know a lot of carvers. If they're exceptionally cheap (around $15 a tool), there may be a reason. I'd recommend buying one or two only, then check them out in the shop. You may find them to be a decent tool, then again, you may find that they're not up to snuff.

David Keller NC
02-08-2009, 11:23 AM
Bill - Took a look at Woodcarver's site - now I know why I've never heard of them, the site states that they're made to WoodCarver's specifications. My thought is that these may be made by Hirsch or one of the other big German companies, with a different ferrule and handle wood that is otherwise supplied with the name-brand.

German steel has a pretty good reputation, but I'll note that these tools are sold at a fair premium over Pfiel. Pfiel enjoys a very good reputation for steel (which I think is accurate), so I think I'd have to have a powerful reason to want these tools over the Pfiels. Generally, if I wanted premium carving tools I'd choose Ashley Isles, which are hand-forged.

William Lewis
02-08-2009, 3:08 PM
Your best bet before buying any carving tools is to see them in person. Florida in the winter time has a lot of carving shows. That way you can pick up a tool and hold it in your hand, try on a piece of wood, a lot of vendors encurage that. Hope this helps, otherwise for a newbie you could buy a lot of knives and hand tools you don,t like or are uncorfortable. Also check to see if any Woodcarving clubs in your area.

Good luck
Bill Lewis

Robert Rozaieski