PDA

View Full Version : Wood choice for cabinets

Brendan Hogan
02-06-2009, 11:14 PM
I am a new woodworker and am planning to test my cabinet building skills by building a small cabinet to mount on the wall over the toilet in our master bathroom. I am planning to finish the cabinet with a very dark stain, so grain is not too important to me. What I am wondering is what is the best plywood/trim wood combination to get a good even finish.

I could also use some input on where to get decent wood around the Wichita, KS area if anyone knows.

Thanks,

Brendan

Paul Greathouse
02-07-2009, 12:13 AM
Hello Brendan, welcome to Sawmill Creek

Not sure whats readily available in Kansas, but the following are pretty standard picks and should be available at most lumberyards and home centers.

If you want to stay with something inexpensive that will still be good quality, go with Birch plywood and face it out with Poplar. Poplar is very easy to work with and not a bad price to learn on.

If you want to go a little nicer, use Oak Plywood and face out with Oak. Oak is also easy to work with and will look much better with the dark stain than the Birch/Poplar combo would.

Whatever you decide post some pictures of your work after your done so we can see the results.

Brian Kent
02-07-2009, 12:13 AM
I'm from California, which is a long way from Kansas, so I can't help you with word sources, but

Welcome!

Brian Kent

Brent Leonard
02-07-2009, 12:42 AM
I'm from Topeka and the following are the closest places I know of up this way.

Mark Frieden, in Pomona. Mark has good prices on good wood. He sells to most of the area high schools. His stuff is S2S. He won't give you much of a price break, if any for rough stock but you will get first crack at his best boards. He surfaces the wood himself to 7/8" on 4/4 material. He has just about anything, including most plywoods in the common veneers. Very good to buy from.