PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions on basic supplies staples list

Sheryl Haley
02-06-2009, 11:12 AM
I am new to laser engraving and have been reading the posts and discovering different products, materials, and software everyone uses. There are so many, I was wondering what basic supplies I should have on hand for different materials as far as coloring, sealing, tape, ect.... for granite, marble, wood, acrylic and such...

I have an Epilog Legend 36EXT 75watt
Corel Draw X4
Photograv 3.0

Thank you in advance,
Sheryl Haley

Steve Clarkson
02-06-2009, 11:29 AM
Oh man.....it could take HOURS to answer THAT one!

Well, I know you already bought black gloss paint.....that was an excellent mirror that you posted the other day.

Here are some of the things I have bought.....

For coloring.....you need about twenty cans of spray paint (all different colors) and make sure you buy the Krylon Fusion for painting acrylic. You also need Rub n Buff (as many colors as you can find) but a basic kit of like 20 different colors of acrylic paints (especially titanium white) will help. A few small paint brushes (all different sizes) and a bag of rags. The Blue Painters tape and maybe some of that frog tape.

Make sure you pick up a can of Denatured Alcohol (referred to on here as DNA), some WD 40, mineral spirits and/or paint thinner.

Don't forget adhesives (super glue, gorilla glue, etc.).

I also bought a battery lighted magnifying glass so you can inspect the fine detail on things. A fabric ruler for measuring round objects. An xacto knife set for cutting and scraping things (a utility knife too).

Well, I just cost you a few hundred bucks.....so I'll stop there.

But if you ever need someone to go shopping with....call me!

Frank Corker
02-06-2009, 12:53 PM