PDA

View Full Version : Urns

Chris Jenkins
02-06-2009, 11:11 AM
Without getting too morbid, I'm really interested in making some urns. I have two little urns that I would like to make for some special dogs in our family.

I have never done any hollow form work before, but am intersted in trying. Can anyone give me some pointers of where to read up on some of these techniques?

I saw the Mike Mahoney Urn DVD is available, but not sure if that is more for the advanced user, so I hesitated to buy.

Right now the only tools that are "hollowing tools" that I own is the Beaver Swan Neck from Crown.

Thanks,

Chris

Pete Jordan
02-06-2009, 11:53 AM
I have the Mahoney DVD and it is very good. I think it would be a good one to get.

robert hainstock
02-06-2009, 1:20 PM
I only made one urn, but te process was simpl e enough. It was of staved construction, 16 to be precse. It ised rabbeted ends, and I used David Ellsworth hollowing tools which I would not use again. I posted it Nov 25 2007. The staves were ripped at 11.25 degrees, and were 1 1/2x2". for pet cremains, 6" long should do it. Good luck. :(:(
Bob

Bernie Weishapl
02-06-2009, 4:18 PM
Another vote for Mahoney's DVD. Excellent.

Roger Wilson
02-06-2009, 5:29 PM
Without getting too morbid, I'm really interested in making some urns. I have two little urns that I would like to make for some special dogs in our family.

From the urn threads I've seen you have to account for one cubic inch of ash for each pound the person (doggie here) weighed. That is bigger then you'd think. Bill Grumbine's website has a short article on an urn he made for someone.

Jeff Nicol
02-06-2009, 6:44 PM
Chris,

Here is a sight that gives you some information on cubic inches of ash generated pere 50# of live weight. Hope this helps, I have made a few urns for pets and a german shepard fit in a 5" dia 6" tall inside dimensions. I just posted a picture a few weeks ago of one I just finished.

http://www.giftofireland.com/Articletwentytwo.htm