PDA

View Full Version : Help with a Stanley no 7

Darron Chapman
02-04-2009, 10:18 AM
Hey folks,
I just picked up a stanley no 7 to continue to fill out my basic plane inventory. However, I need some help.

Here's the problem: it seems that no matter what I do I cannot get the blade to advance properly. I have tried adjusting the frog, but I have to basically move the frog all the way forward and advance the adjusting nut all the way out in order to get the blade the protrude from the sole. In which case there is really no gap left in the mouth of the plane. I have tried doing the above and then backing off the frog. In which case the blade no longer protudes. I'll confess that I am a newbie, but I have several stanley bailey planes (3, 4,5) and I have not had any problems with this on any of those.

So, here's the facts. The blade is 2 3/8 wide and about 7 3/8 long. That seems right for a no 7, doesn't it? Chip breaker is the same width and shows no signs of damage. The Y adjusting lever does not appear damaged and moves freely. The blade is being engaged by the adjuster when I turn the adjusting nut.

Any ideas?:confused:

Robert Rozaieski
02-04-2009, 10:30 AM
Probably the wrong chipbreaker. If it's not the right one for the plane (like if it's a Stanley plane but a chipbreaker from a different mfg.), it won't work right. I don't have one to measure but perhaps someone could measure the distance from the edge of a proper chipbreaker to the engagement slot and you could compare this measurement to your chipbreaker.

Justin Green
02-04-2009, 10:47 AM