PDA

View Full Version : Anyone use a Steb Drive?

Burt Alcantara
02-03-2009, 11:16 AM
I'm finding that my drive centers are slipping in my new 3520b. Also, they are chewing thru the green wood blanks. I noticed on the CS site that they have a Steb Drive that fits into a chuck. I like that idea.

StubbyLathe has a huge drive center that fits OVER the spindle and Best Woods sells a chuck specific drive center.

If you have one of these, how well does it work?

Thanks,
Burt

Cyril Griesbach
02-03-2009, 11:38 AM
Burt, I use the Sorby Steb drives and like them a lot. I have both the one that goes in the chuck and another with a #2MT.

I think that PSI sell a knock off version of them for a lot less money but I have no experience with them of knowledge of their quality.

Wilbur Pan
02-03-2009, 11:39 AM
I have a Stebcenter, the one with the morse taper. But the Stebdrive that goes into the chuck should perform identically.

It grips the wood like a mother, green or dry.

Gordon Seto
02-03-2009, 11:52 AM
I have all 3 sizes of the Steb centers and the Stubby. Nothing beats the Stubby on green wood. If the unbalanced large blank causes your MT center to slip, it would mess up the Morse Taper also. As explained in the Bill Grumbine dvd, he uses the jumbo adapter for the chuck.
Another advantage of the Stubby is it can be used as a 4 or 2 prong drive (very good for natural edge turning).

Bob Hallowell
02-03-2009, 12:02 PM
I have the psi version that fits in my chuck and it is about the only drive center I use.

[It grips the wood like a mother, green or dry.[/quote]
This brings bad thoughts to my head, and kind makes me sick:eek:

Bob

Montgomery Scott
02-03-2009, 2:42 PM
I have the 1-1/4 sorby that I purchased to deal with hard woods like African blackwood, ebony and cocobolo. It's a lot easier, and better IMO, than putting saw cuts for the spur drive. For softer woods, like walnut I prefer a spur drive to avoid the spinning problem.

Kyle Iwamoto
02-03-2009, 6:05 PM