PDA

View Full Version : Drum Sander Usefulness?

Mike Goetzke
02-02-2009, 11:02 AM
Almost two years ago I got a good deal on a Performax 16-32. I'm just a hobbyist but hate sanding so thought a drum sander would be a great addition to my shop. I really don't use it hardly at all. Especially now, since I bought two Festool 6" sanders (rotex & ets 150/3 eq).

For example, I just finished 14 solid oak drawer fronts this weekend and my first choice would be to use the 6" sanders and not the drum sander. I don't have a lot of experience with the drum sander but I expected to be able to put lumber through it and be done. That hasn't been the case - I still need to use a hand held sander to take the small ridges left by the drum sander.

I'm I alone with this experience - missing something - or maybe drum sanders are better suited for production shops?

Mike

Thomas Bank
02-02-2009, 11:13 AM
One person in our club has a Performax and had much the same attitude about it as you have found. I have a Grizzly 1066 and after some experimentation, this club member was sold on it over the Performax.

But I have to admit that most of my use of the 1066 is for preparation rather than final finishing. This is not on par with the "timesaver" machines of production shops.

John Thompson
02-02-2009, 11:18 AM
I don't have one but if I did.. two things come to mind that I could have used one for in the past four days... birds-eye maple which is prone to tear-out. Re-sawn QSWO veneer that was used on 8 legs for a Stickley style computer desk as I want fleck on all four sides where a very even surface is necessary to get good, tight miters on the edges.

And yes.. production shops or anyone that does a lot of veneering would be the most likely candidates for one.

Sarge..

guy knight
02-02-2009, 11:22 AM