PDA

View Full Version : Mystery Man emerges!!

Jerry Olexa
07-01-2004, 6:10 PM
Hi y'all! I've been a member about 6 weeks now (in stealth mode)and gained much respect for this forum and its members. You guys know your craft and I look forward to the general advice/insight I get here. However,. Its time to go public. As you can probably tell, I am not a professional but have enjoyed building, woodworking all my life. Now that I am retired, I have more time to devote but along w that comes a restrictive back condition that limits the macho side of building so I now learning the "softer"furnture side which requires more attention to detail and patience! In days past, I've built 5 or 6 decks, remodeled or finished 4 or 5 basements (we've moved 7 times), built a large amt of bookcases and storage units (but no pix). At age 51, I started my biggest project to date and built a cabin on 20ac of raw land doing just about all the work myself including the foundation , plumbing and some of the electrical. I will try to attach some photos including some cabin shots(my first attempt attaching photos-Hope it works) and hope for the best. Also will be a picture of the computer desk just completed last year made of oak ( good trial wood I think). I used no plans and excuse the finishing. It was done w the old MinWax and Poly. Im now learning about oils, shellacs, glazes,non poly varnishes etc and my current cherry project should show some improvement at least in finishing! So excuse my quietness here w/o letting you know who I am. As I say to my son in law as we work on older projects together "It's just another hatchet job!". The work I've seen on this forum is of high calibre and thanks for letting me join and learn. Be patient with me. I'm definetly a "work in progress" Jerry:)
P>S> I will next try to figure out the avatar!?

Stefan Antwarg
07-01-2004, 6:21 PM