PDA

View Full Version : Tool sharpening for a novice, HELP!

Dale Morris
01-27-2009, 10:52 AM
Hi guys,

I am a novice woodworker and have lots of power tools but need handtools as well, others on this site have given me suggestions on what to get but they have told me to learn how to sharpen first. I have an old Atlas vertical grinder with a horizontal honing slow turning wheel. I bought it used and did not know if it had been used with water or oil so I have been using oil with it. It has no rest so I have been just trying to match the angle of the chisel that I'm sharpening. I am not sure what angles different chisels should be sharpened at. Are you supposed to hone the back side of the chisel a little to make sure it is flat after sharpening. How do you hold angle consistenly so your bleade is square? Should I buy a hand stone and try it by hand, if so What kind of stone. You can see I don't know much but I'm willing to listen and learn and want to thank everyone in advance for taking your time to help me.

Dale:)

Robert Rozaieski
01-27-2009, 11:23 AM
This is the best how-to article I know of on honing.
http://www.antiquetools.com/sharp/

In short, your grinder alone is likely not enough. The grinder will help you to establish the bevel angle but you need a method to polish the edge after grinding it. Oil stones, water stones, scary sharp or otherwise, the choice is yours but pick one method, stick with it and learn how to do it well. A dull hand tool is a dangerous hand tool ;).

For bevel angle I use 30 degrees on everything (except mortise chisels) to keep it simple and to avoid having to constantly change my grinder's tool rest angle. It's what works for me.

Alan DuBoff
01-27-2009, 11:52 AM
Dale,

As I had mentioned in the other thread, I believe sharpening is the single most important skill to have when using hand tools. Your tools are only as good as they are sharp. More so, a tool that is not sharp can be a dangerous tool in many cases, be warned.