PDA

View Full Version : My new plane and bargain alert for Indy...

Richard Magbanua
01-27-2009, 8:59 AM
I've been saving up for some nice hand tools for the past six months or so. I was intending to wait until the annual Woodworking Show at our fairgrounds where I could order from Lee Valley for free shipping as I had done last year when I got the large router plane and edge trimming plane. My target item this year was the low angle jack. For me it had been a toss up between the Veritas and the Lie-Nielsen. The tie breaker had been mostly cost and maybe the whole blade interchangeability thing with the Veritas bevel up plane line. Well, I called Woodcraft to ask if they were having any specials on LN planes due to the Woodworking show. I expected them to say "no" but to my delight, they wee offering 15% off orders! I did the math and figured I could get their LA jack for less than the LV. It came to $208 (+tx). Not too bad. It came with free grease for the slope! I am now considering picking up the LA smoother while it's 15% off.
So I wanted to share this news and some pics with people who really appreciate my new purchase. I don't really know anyone here who would "get" what this means to me or how excited I am.
Here are pics of its first use right out of the box...

Richard Magbanua
01-27-2009, 9:06 AM
Another thing I wanted to share and ask you guys. When I bought this at Woodcraft the sales guy said I should expect to spend an hour or two to tune up my new plane. He said Tom Nielsen even said so when he was there last year. I told him that if I needed to tune it up that much I was gonna bring it back! Luckily for me he didn't know what he was talking about. But I was wondering, is this accurate information regarding LN planes?
He also was bad-mouthing Veritas a bit to play up their LN planes but, Mr. Rob Lee, I had yer back.

Michael L. Martin
01-27-2009, 9:24 AM