PDA

View Full Version : New forum member and unisaw owner

Chris Kehl
01-26-2009, 9:31 PM
Everyone,

I've been poking around the site the last couple of days, reading and enjoying everyone's posts. I am a novice woodworker, and I look forward to learning from everyone on the site. I've dabbled here and there, but now finally have the time and means to take it more seriously. I've had a craftsman 10" contractor saw for a few years and it has served me well, but finally found a unisaw at a decent price, and talked the boss (wife)into it. I've been looking at them for some time and trying to become somewhat knowledgable before I bought one. I'm from the Indianapolis area, and found one near South Bend at good price compared to others, and it came with a Vega fence and some other goodies, blades tenoning jig etc. Needless to say I jumped on the opportunity and drove 3 hrs to get it. Once I got it home I got it all set up and started to check it out. I still think I got a good deal, but here are some of my concerns, once I got it home I noticed it's only running on a single belt. The motor pulley that should have three grooves only has one. I noticed that the moter looked newer than everything else, but just thought it had been replaced with one that really fits. On closer inspection of the motor, it's a Sears 1 HP motor. And it appears that a previous owner has fabricated a bracket to mount it. All this said, the saw works, and seems to run well. Of course I've never used one before, so I really don't have anything to compare it to. The rest of the saw is in really good shape, the table is clean, the tilt and raise wheels turn freely and have the locking knobs. I guess I'm looking for suggestions as to whether I should use it as is for now, or should I fix it up right. I'm just afraid the wife will kick me to garage permanently if I tell her I need to spend another $400 on the correct motor and brackets etc. after spending $600 on the saw. My main concern is safety. Wa