PDA

View Full Version : 120 watt question

Jeff Gilchrist
01-25-2009, 11:03 AM
I have been away for some time due to a move last spring but am back now and looking to buy a laser.

Just to recap my experiences with laser engraving; My current day job is working with two Epilog Helix 45w machines and two RMI 15w fiber lasers marking stuff for the government. I have been doing this for the last two years for another company.

I am also retired from the Army so I have a couple sources of income, this will start out as a hobby and we'll see where it goes from there.

My question for the very experienced and helpful masses here at the creek is this:

With a 120 watt, single tube/ single head, Epilog EX32 will I be able to engrave stainless without a bonding agent such as cermark?

Thank you all for this very informed and helpful community that you have built.

James Stokes
01-25-2009, 11:29 AM
Yes you will. Not real fast but you can. I have a 100 watt with the same tube as the 120 and I can do it at 10% speed.
If I was going to buy a new laser, I would buy the 50watt fibermark. For marking metals you would be much happier.

Mark Winlund
01-25-2009, 7:03 PM
Just the opposite. I have a ULS 120 watt (measured at 140 watts) and it won't do it.

Mark

Dan Hintz
01-25-2009, 7:25 PM
I believe Rodney was able to mark stainless with a 1.5" lens, but he had to go incredibly slow... like <0.5%, though I don't remember how powerful the laser was (knowing Rodney, he has some power at his disposal). In essence, you may get away with it, but it will be so unbelievably slow as to not be a money-maker.

James Stokes
01-25-2009, 8:54 PM
Mark, I am suprised that you can not do it with your laser. Mine has less power but it will do it. I do not though, I use ceramark it is much faster.
I am now seriously considering buying Epilogs 50 watt fiber laser for marking metals.

James Stokes
01-25-2009, 8:55 PM
Rodney's lasers are 35 watt.

Doug Griffith
01-25-2009, 10:38 PM