PDA

View Full Version : In need of some Inspiration

Greg Bender
01-20-2009, 8:20 PM
I noticed over the weekend that I 'm in a slump.All my recently turned bowls are looking alot like all the other bowls I have been turning. I need a recommendation for a book or books that you might look through when you need a new idea or design to turn.I have turning blanks half way to the ceiling and need some new ideas.I am self taught so a book with some tutorials or general info on technique used probably would not hurt either.My bowls come out good but after looking at the posts on the site and seeing what everybody is doing ,I get the feeling that I'm turning the best looking firewood I've ever turned.Basically,I'm in need of some creative input!Fire at will.
Greg

Tom Hamilton
01-20-2009, 8:25 PM
Richard Raffin's The Art of the Turned Bowl and 500 Wood Bowls should be helpful. Amazon has both.

Also, cruise the AAW forum and some of the local turning club web site. Most have galleries loaded with photos of form.

Enjoy the search and the turning, Tom

Curt Fuller
01-20-2009, 9:12 PM
I've never been a fan of "how to" books about woodturning with the exception of learning the basics on tool use and safety. I feel that following someone else's method and style in a book often results in us becoming clones of that person, at least in our turning style. But this is one book I have purchased and have gotten tons of inspiration from. There are very brief explanations of the basic process and materials but it mostly leaves the fun part, figuring out how to do it, up to you.

http://www.amazon.com/Woodturning-Forms-Materials-John-Hunnex/dp/1861083556/ref=sr_1_26?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1232503418&sr=1-26

It goes into many shapes, forms, textures, alternative materials, etc.

Dean Thomas
01-20-2009, 9:37 PM
Tom gave you my best two resources. In Raffan's book, he has oodles of profiles and variations on those profiles. Great book for contemplating shape.