PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Australia - introduction

Ian Wilson (AUST)
01-20-2009, 5:06 PM
G'Day All,

My name is Ian Wilson, most people call me Willo, and firstly let me say what a great bunch you all are. Its lovely to see an Industry that still helps each other and not be aggressive competitors.

After reading many of your Posts my head is exploding with questions and idea's. I know very little about Laser Engraving, here in Aust the cost of a machine is between $20-$30K. I'm looking at Epilog Mini 35 Watt 18" x 12" approx $26,500 AUD the exchange rate kills us. Any way quite a large investment for myself.

I'll do 3 months of Laser Uni as I have no Corel Draw experience.

The Area I live in is the Whitsundays (Australian Carribean - sort of). We have a large Tourist Industry, a Marine Industry and Coal Mines are about 3 hours away plus the normal local business of a town of 25,000 population.

We have beautiful small islands and one Islands in particular had 720 weddings on it last year alone...any wedding idea's.

Any idea's on what I can offer.............there is no other Laser Engraver here. The local Sign Writer ha said he could use us.

I'll be operating from home, am I being realistic, can I learn how to operate the machine and produce quality goods with no experience and no one in the area with another machine to learn from.

I'm not putting me life savings into it but boy it would hurt if in a years time I had a $30K toy sitting in the corner doing nothing.

I have sales and marketing experience.

All the Sales Reps all assure me I'll be ok.......making $$$ within the first few weeks.

Any help would be appreciated.

Kind regards,

Willo

George M. Perzel
01-20-2009, 5:24 PM
Hey Willo;
Welcome to the Creek, mate.