PDA

View Full Version : Wood movement

Chris Schoolland
01-20-2009, 3:32 PM
I'm a finish carpenter working on a house where we're having all the doors (and beam ceilings and cabinetry) made out of afromosia, an african teak-like wood. The doors will mostly be 2" or 2 1/4" thick, 3' to 5' wide, and 8' to 10' tall. They're a combination of pockets and pivots.

Do any of you have experience with afromosia? My concern is with the proposed door design.

The doors will all be horizontal slats of undetermined width (probably around 6") each separated by a 3/16" x 3/16" dado going all around the door (3 sides for the pockets). We talked the owner into going end grain on the door edge instead of mitering around so we have at least a remote chance of shaping these things. The concern I have is that in essence we're making a board up to 10' wide. I'm thinking we need to design the slats like horizontal siding, lapping each other to allow some movement.

Sorry this is getting so long, but a bit more info: the doors will likely be built around a metal frame with a plywood core. The afromosia cladding will likely be 3/8" thick. The top of the pocket doors are not allowed to have any trim, so the top section needs to be tricky. If I can attach my sketchup brainstorming, you'll see what I mean. Play with the layers.

Larry Edgerton
01-20-2009, 6:36 PM
I have used some afromosia on boat work and as it is a relitive of teak it is oily, and so requires special care when gluing. I wash it with carbon tet or acetone just before gluing with epoxy. West System has a section in their manual that deals with these kind of woods.

Sounds like an awesome house you are working on, I'm envious! Have no work here in Michigan, thats why I'm bugging everyone on here.....