PDA

View Full Version : Problem w/Sears Radial Arm Saw

Bill Clifton
01-19-2009, 9:17 PM
I am a newbie and hope this post works.

My problem is that my '76 10" Sear Radial Arm Saw won't adjust up or down any more (or any less for that matter). I have the repair parts diagram and don't really see where the problem might lie. Before I do more damage I thought I'd ask if anybody else has encountered and resolved this problem.

As a newbie I have a couple of comments:

I have no idea where I am in relation to Steve Schlemp.

I reside in Paducah Ky. If I get to the eastern part of the state I am going to look up Mike Fuson in Siler - he does good looking work.

For us newbies, sometimes writing it out might help.

Thanks

Art Kelly
01-19-2009, 11:28 PM
I have probably just about the same saw and it gradually got harder and harder, then impossible to raise or lower. This was quite a while ago--many years.

I took the column apart and totally cleaned it up with mineral spirits, then "lapped" the column with some fine valve-grinding compound. (Do they even make this stuff anymore?)

Anyway, I did this by smearing some abrasive and M/S on the column and rotating it as I pushed it back in the base. Did this for probably a half hour, pulling it back up and "spinning" it back down into the base over and over.

Finally, I took it back out and totally removed the abrasive by rinsing in clean M/S, oiled it with some light oil and put everything back together. I was never able to discern anything that would have caused the problem. Guess the column grew.:rolleyes:

From then on, everytime I jack the column up high, I spray WD-40 on the column before I lower it. It has worked perfectly for the last 20 or so years.

Do you have the manual? I can scan the appropriate pages if you need them.