PDA

View Full Version : First turning

Chris Tedford
01-18-2009, 5:33 PM
Hi all. Name's Chris and I'm a theatrical carpenter by trade. I've been interested in turning for quite a while now, but today I took the plunge. For Christmas my wife enrolled me in today's pen turning class at the local Woodcraft. After shoveling a fresh 5" of snow I went to class. Two hours later I had a Slimline pen made from Sapele, two more pen blanks, Slimline kits, pen mandrel, end mill and a nice sharp set of pen turning tools (Pinnacle:1/4" Spindle Gouge, 1/4" Round Nose Scraper, Skew, 1/8" Parting tool, and 1/16" Spindle Gouge). The tools and pen blanks were included in with the class, all the other things I bought on the way out. The really nice part is that, at work, we have a Delta 47-700 lathe that collects dust. Come Tuesday it will start to collect shavings.:)

I'd played around with the lathe at work a few times, but the tools are dull and I didn't really know what I was doing. When I made my first cut with a nice, sharp spindle gouge this morning I heard a very distinct sucking sound. This turning thing has me all excited, kinda wish I didn't have tomorrow off. I want to turn things.:D Anyway, just thought I'd share a picture of the pen and ask a question. The band in the middle seems to be spinning freely, is that supposed to happen? I know it comes off but it just seems like it should be tighter. Also, we used the stick polish (one brown, the other white) is this the best or is there some other method for the finish?

Thanks for looking.

Chris

Ken Fitzgerald
01-18-2009, 5:46 PM
Chris,

Welcome to the Creek!

Nice first pen! Those slim lines are fun to turn. Yes the bands will normally turn freely....at least the ones I've turned have. It really doesn't affect the operation of the pen.

Again....Welcome to the Vortex! Photograph any money you have...frame the photo and post it near your lathe. It'll remind you what it was like to have some in your wallet.:rolleyes: