PDA

View Full Version : Let wood set after planning??

George Bokros
01-18-2009, 3:44 PM
I typically plane to thickness and let the wood set for at least 24 hrs to see if it has any stress to release then I let it set again after i cut to widths before proceeding with making panels or rails and stiles.

What do the rest of you experts do??

Thanks

George

Matt Benton
01-18-2009, 3:54 PM
I'm far from an expert, but I've been giving it a couple of weeks to move. I hear alot of people mention 24-48 hours, but that just doesn't feel like enough for me....

David Freed
01-18-2009, 4:19 PM
When I was selling kiln dried lumber, I had one customer that was buying sycamore to make drawersides. He would use about 1000 bf/mo. If you have never worked with sycamore, it is one of the worst for warping, twisting, etc. He would not plane it until he was ready to immediately cut it up and make the drawers. If he let it set overnight, some of it would twist so badly it would become unusable. None of my other customers would use it for that reason, and he finally switched to another species.

As far as I know none of the commercial shops I dealt with would wait for lumber to equalize after planing.

John Thompson
01-18-2009, 4:41 PM
I wait for about 24 hours...

Sarge..

Jason Tuinstra
01-18-2009, 6:13 PM
Just to add my .02 and a "for what it's worth" I normally go right from the planer to drawer construction and I've never had any problems.... so far ;)

Steve Griffin
01-18-2009, 11:30 PM
I often try to let wood set after rough ripping and before face joining/planing. It seems that is when the wood moves the most.

I probably should let wood set more often after planing rather than just before.

Plus, what a great excuse to take off work early: "Honey, I got to let the wood rest...."

-Steve

James Adinaro
01-19-2009, 12:33 AM