PDA

View Full Version : Is this a deal on a Powermatic?

Will Hon
01-17-2009, 8:44 PM
Probably the wrong forum, if so sorry, but I have bee looking into getting a TS. I'm a hobbyist and I want to get a quality TS on a budget. This Powermatic has been listed on my local CL for awhile, how is the price? I may be able to talk him down a bit b/c of the amount of time its been on. (What it worth??) I'm new to purchasing used equipment, what kind of questions should I ask and/or look for. And what about the TS surface, i've never used one like that. It looks a little beat up, or is that just the picture?

http://kansascity.craigslist.org/tls/988201960.html

Thanks in advance.

Will

Tom Young
01-17-2009, 9:01 PM
Will, This saw is overpriced. You can get a new Powermatic 54A for around $1000.00. Amazon has one listed here http://www.amazon.com/Powermatic-1791227K-Horsepower-Contractor-Accu-Fence/dp/B00005OQM5/ref=pd_bbs_sr_4?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1232243692&sr=8-4

Tom

Tom Majewski
01-17-2009, 9:25 PM
I dont think it's a bad price. Here's one similar I found on another listing.

http://reno.craigslist.org/tls/995500832.html

another PM:

http://norfolk.craigslist.org/tls/987979827.html

Go see the saw. If all the cranks are smooth, and the top looks like it will clean up with steel wool and wd40, offer him 300.

Dan Friedrichs
01-17-2009, 9:35 PM
Looks rusty on one side.

Go look at it - as someone else said, if it looks like it will clean up easily, it may be worth something. I'd say $250 (if it will clean up easily).

Personally, I think the seller might be a little crazy to suggest that the used 25" fence would be worth $200....

Another point to consider: that fence is rather short. Most people use a TS with a 32" or 50" (or even longer) fence.

I think you could find better....

Tom Majewski
01-17-2009, 9:41 PM
Strange though...
That fence looks bigger than 25". I wonder if he mistyped the listing.

Will Hon
01-17-2009, 9:48 PM