View Full Version : dry lubricant spray on vise

Tom Adger
01-15-2009, 7:05 PM
I just received a new Anant vise for my new workbench. After I clean the goop off everything, I am thinking that a dry lubricant spray would be good for the rods, to keep down sawdust buildup which occurs with regular grease. The local hardware store has a Gunk dry lubricant spray, which I suppose is as good as any. Anyone have experience with this type product? I also have a new Ridgid 3660 table saw, and I am thinking of using it there as well.

Dave Lehnert
01-15-2009, 7:17 PM
I have no experience with the product you speak of but have used the products below with good results.
The Dupont product is available at Lowes in the tool department. Next to the WD40.
The Sprayway I purchase from Grizzly. Grizzly item G4682.

http://images.lowes.com/product/036121/036121191570.jpg
http://www.grizzly.com/images/pics/jpeg288/g/g4682.jpg

Gary Lange
01-15-2009, 7:22 PM
Go to a Bike Shop and pick up some spray wax for bike chains. I used it on my Mountain Bike and it saved a lot of cleaning time.

Dewayne Reding
01-15-2009, 7:24 PM
I supervise a Howitzer maintenance shop. We use aerosol dry film by the case for over 5 years now. It's almost like a light coat of paint for corrrosion protection. Sheds dust or grit. There may or may not be a better option for your vise, but the dry film will work. I have used it on lots of outside tools with great results. BTW, Sandstroms out of Port Byron, Illinois manufactures what I use, but there are similar products.

Ron Jones near Indy
01-15-2009, 8:12 PM
I've used the DuPont product a couple of times. Seems to work, but then I haven't put it to hard use.

Charlie Plesums
01-15-2009, 10:54 PM
I have used, and like, the Gunk brand of dry lubricant. They have lots of different types... be sure to get the one that is Teflon or PFTE (or is it PTFE) based. It is easily identified, since it is a couple dollars more than the other types.

Stephen Edwards