PDA

View Full Version : Which turning tool should I use?

Aaron Wingert
01-13-2009, 11:09 AM
I'm very new to turning and some of my first projects have been the wooden "pots" for turkey calls. I've made a few of them successfully but have ruined an equal amount. I'm not having any problems hollowing them out, but when forming the outside of them I'm getting some pretty ugly catches/gouges. A couple have literally blown apart from hard catches. My assumption is that the end grain is the problem.

For the outside I've been primarily using a 1/2" spindle gouge. I've also been using a 3/8" (I think) fingernail bowl gouge. I take small bites and have experimented with different speeds. I even got a catch with the roughing gouge last night. I've tried the skew chisel but that is way over my skill level at this point.

I know, I know...I need to get with an experienced turner in my area to get some direction. Unfortunately I don't know anybody that is a turner.

I'm wondering if a scraper would work any better for the end grain work to form the permimeter of the call? I don't have one yet and don't know what to buy. I'm just scared to use my gouges and feel timid when doing that part just because of the chance of a catch.

Since the interior of the call has no curves and is all flat surfaces and ledges, I'm using the parting tool to form all of that and do the hollowing. That part is going very, very well.

The calls that don't get ruined sound really great. Here's a pic to give you guys an idea of what I'm talking about. They're about 4" diameter. One is cherry and is finished. The other is glued-up zebrawood and doesn't have the calling surfaces installed.

Aaron Wingert
01-13-2009, 11:11 AM
For the record, my tools are kept sharp using a slow speed grinder.

Bob Hallowell
01-13-2009, 11:33 AM