PDA

View Full Version : To Boil or Not to Boil

Christopher K. Hartley
01-11-2009, 9:01 AM
As many of the old timers here know the topic of "Green Bowl Drying" has come up a number of times. Most of the discussion favored the DNA method and one which I have used and still use to some degree. I had always wondered about the Boiling and "Soap Soak" methods and did not tune them out, but just did not understand them fully. I am still not a big proponent of the "Soap Soak" as my efforts there have been less than desirable. After Meeting Steve Russell a long time production turner, I became more acquainted with the "Green Bowl Drying" method and would like to share Steve's info about it with you. The biggest complaint I had heard about regarding Boiling was that of wood color loss. After seeing Steve's work and understanding the process better, it just simply is not an issue. Just like we use a variety of tools for our turning an extra drying method could well be of benefit to many. For those interested here is a link to Steve's site and the article. It is more than worth consideration. Hope it helps some. http://www.woodturningvideosplus.com/boiling-green-wood.html :)

Jim Kountz
01-11-2009, 11:31 AM
Very interesting read, I have been researching the various methods of drying bowls after roughing and this one keeps coming up along with the DNA method. I would love to have a small kiln and am thinking of building one but the actual process of kiln drying bowl blanks is still somewhat of a mystery to me. Thanks for posting this Chris, it was a very worthwhile read!!

Dave Ogren
01-11-2009, 11:44 AM
Chris,

Thanks, very interesting reading. Another subject that I wish I knew a lot more about. It would be great if there was a list of which way was the fastest, best, cheapest, and on and on but I guess that would change with the wood type and the inclusions etc. Thanks again, Chris, I really appreciate it.

Dave Ogren

Ken Fitzgerald
01-11-2009, 11:51 AM