PDA

View Full Version : Where does tiger quilted maple come from?

Chris Cockerham
01-09-2009, 5:02 PM
Hi, I am new to woodworking with hardwoods. I usually only do carpentry type construction or basically anything with wood from the local lumber store. I have been looking around at different wood variations and I can't help but too drool over figured maple. I really like the tiger quilted flamed curly maple. I was wanderwing what type of maple this comes from? I have about 60 acres of woods with mostly silver maple, ash, pin and red oak, hickory, sycamore, black walnut, and red and american elm. There is some hackberry, hard maple, sweetgum, cottonwood, birch and some other oaks too. I think shumard and bur and swamp oak. And also some tuliptrees and very few cherry trees.
I know the walnut is nice, well, atleast I really like walnut! I like elm too and cherry, but there is hardly any at all. Could I get figured maple from silver and the other "hard" maple trees on my property? One day I would like to build me a pole barn using lumber from my woods.
Thanks for any help!
Chris

Chris Cockerham
01-09-2009, 5:09 PM
Sorry i meant to also ask what type of wood would be good to build with? I am thinking the ash and oak? It would be for building a pole barn. I am planning building myself a sawmill setup and eventually buying a woodmaster 718 pro pack with the 3-Sided Mill add-on. :D:D:D
Thanks again
Chris

Dewey Torres
01-09-2009, 5:20 PM
Chris,

When referring to wood in woodworking you have the tree species, the type of wood, the type of cut, and the figure. (I hope I didn't miss any)

The type of tree species in this case is maple and the figure is tiger maple which is really a type of curl pattern in the wood.

The two types of maple commonly used are soft and hard maple. Tiger maple comes from hard maple.

Type of cut examples: flat sawn, quarter sawn, rift sawn.

Sonny Edmonds
01-09-2009, 5:43 PM
From mother tigers of course. :D