PDA

View Full Version : Newbie lathe speed question

Ray Phillips
01-08-2009, 1:24 PM
High guys, I am a newbie when it comes to turning wood. I have a question concerning lathe speed. I have turned several pens but I have not turned any bowls and I am in the process of watching videos and reading especially the threads on this forum to learn to turn bowls. I have a Jet mini lathe that tells me the speeds in the different belt positions. I had the oppurtunity awhile back to buy an old Delta Rockwell 46-200 12x36 lathe.for $75.00. It had no motor. I found a used motor for $35.00 and it seems to do fine. The pully is a four step pully and my question is does anyone know the approximate speeds of the lathe in the different belt positions? I have looked on the OWWM site but I could find nothing about the different speeds. Thanks in advance for any help.

Scott Conners
01-08-2009, 3:51 PM
A little info and a little math will get us the answers.
First, we need to know the speed of the motor. It should be on the motor plate, and it should be either 1725 rpm or 3145 rpm, or rounded similarly.
Then you need to measure the diameter of the pulleys. Typically you'd have a step pulley on both drive shaft and spindle, giving you four widely ranged speeds. Remember, you want your belt to track as straight as possible. Misalignment will lead to premature wear on the belt and pulley.
Then, using the formula D1/D2 = S2/S1, where
D1 = diameter of the pulley on the drive shaft
D2 = the diameter of the pulley on the spindle
S1 = the drive speed
S2 = the spindle speed
we can find the spindle speed when using any given two pulleys.

Solving for S2 gives us an equation to put numbers into: S2=(D1*S1)/D2.

That means if we have a 1" drive pulley, a 3" spindle pulley, and a motor that spins at 1725 rpm, we'd use (1*1725)/3=575 rpm.

I hope that's clear enough, if you need help just get the motor speed and measurements and we'll give you the speeds =)

Ray Phillips
01-08-2009, 4:29 PM