PDA

View Full Version : Coloring glass

Ed Harrall
01-08-2009, 10:33 AM
I am an teacher that has been asked to laser engrave the prom glasses for the high school this year. One of the question asked was if the engraving could be colored. I was not sure so I am asking if anyone has done this. If so how is it done and where to get the dye from.
Thanks
Ed

Tim Bateson
01-08-2009, 10:40 AM
You can color fill after engraving - looks great.

Frank Corker
01-08-2009, 10:40 AM
Ed it is possible to paint an engraved piece of glass using special paint which can be purchased from an art/craft shop. How good they will look is another question.

James Aldrich
01-08-2009, 11:37 AM
Cermark has a material for etching glass with color. I have not tried it to see the results.

http://www.ferro.com/Our+Products/Glass/Products+and+Markets/CerMark/Materials/Laser+Marking+on+Glass.htm

Jim

Ray Uebner
01-08-2009, 1:33 PM
You can use Rub n Buff to be found at most craft stores, like Michaels, etc. I use it all the time and it works great. It comes in about 20 different colors. All you do in apply it to the class using a paper towel, make sure you fill the engraved part well, then rub off the excess, your done.

Ed Harrall
01-08-2009, 2:29 PM
Thanks I will try the rub and buff. I looked at the cemark stuff but I have a co2 laser and it will not work with that
Ed

Ray Uebner
01-08-2009, 2:43 PM
Glad I was able to give back for all I have received from this forum. I am sure you will like the end result.

Stephen Beckham
01-08-2009, 7:56 PM
Well, want to cheat a bit? You'll have to honest with them that it won't last long at all, but dry erase markers do a great job to fill on glass or ceramic (mostly used as displays). It will wash out after two to three washes, but for the initial bang, it is well worth the cost to the effect you can get.

Steve

Ray Uebner
01-09-2009, 12:11 PM