PDA

View Full Version : Milling rough cherry for kitchen

Bob Johnson2
01-07-2009, 6:41 PM
This is probably a rookie question but I'm at a loss on how one goes about milling 75 bd' of lumber for face frames, not to mention the other 75 bd' for the doors and such later. This is my first try at what to me is a larger project. The bds are 14' x 10" x 4/4+ clear Pa cherry, I really don't want to waste material or my time doing everything bass ackwards.
Can someone who's done such do a quick list of the steps. Do you just plane to size, then joint and rip the full lenght bds in mass, or do you attempt to do it one bd at a time, figuring out where you can cross cut the bds to make less waste.
Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks.

Larry Fox
01-07-2009, 7:05 PM
Well, first thing that occurs to me is that it would be a shame to cut 10" wide by 14' long clear cherry boards into face frames. Having said that, when I mill up rough stock I cut to approximate length and run them over the jointer to face joint them. I then joint one edge. After, I rip to approximate width on the TS. I then plane to thickness.

One thing that I obviously left out here is planning the cuts and rough marking the parts you are trying to produce at the end to maximize yield or figure or matches or whatever you are trying to optimize for.

Jim Kountz
01-07-2009, 7:06 PM
Go to woodtreks.com. There is a complete series of free videos explaining this exact procedure. Its really nicely done and there are other vids there too to see. Nice site.

Here is the actual URL
http://woodtreks.com/mill-dimension-rough-lumber-steps-process-length-width-thickness/1020/

Joe Chritz
01-07-2009, 7:07 PM
I try to layout stuff as much as possible. Lets say I need 20 36" stiles at 1 1/2 in wide. I would cross cut a board at 37-38", face joint, edge joint, plane then rip to width. I label all my parts with letters and write them on the ends with a sharpie.