PDA

View Full Version : I Love You Guys & Gals!

Dee Gallo
01-07-2009, 12:38 PM
Thanks to all of the helpful posts on the Creek, I braved my first granite tile from HD, and didn't even screw it up. I never would have known what to do, where to start or what to check for without you all even though I have been using my laser for over 4 years.... never did granite before. Of course it's not a photo of a person, but it is a photo of a watercolor painting (baby steps, people!)

Not that this is something I will do often (I think), but now I won't be afraid if someone else asks for one. Sorry the picture is not as clear as it looked on my computer. That's another lesson to learn.

Thanks again to so many of you who generously posted settings, prep procedures, pictures and comments.

cheers, dee

Frank Corker
01-07-2009, 12:59 PM
Well done Dee. Looks very nice with the inscription on it. What size did you do this on?

Dee Gallo
01-07-2009, 1:14 PM
Thanks, Frank (all hail Frank Corker)-

This is a 12" tile, and the girl's Chinese name means Loves Horse (Ai-Ma sounds a lot like Emma), and she was born in the year of the Horse.

Her grandfather commissioned it for her birthday in May. Don't you love customers who plan ahead?

BTW - question to everyone: I charged $80 for this, was that in the right ballpark? The tile was on sale for $6.

cheers, dee

Phil Garcia
01-07-2009, 1:14 PM
Job well done Dee, here is pic of a wedding picture I did on some 4 inch black glossy porcelain tile. It's really different than the granite or marble tile but just to give you something else to think about.

Dee Gallo
01-07-2009, 1:18 PM
Funny you should mention that, Phil. I bought one 4" ceramic tile at the same time but have not done anything with it. I wondered if I could blast the glaze off to expose the white..apparently you can!

Thanks,dee

Tim Bateson
01-07-2009, 1:32 PM
Dee, Tile is easy to laser. I use two methods.
1. Laser through the glaze, then paint fill.