PDA

View Full Version : My First Turn on my new lathe

Chris Huybregts
01-07-2009, 9:24 AM
Hey Guys, just quickly, an introduction.

By day, I'm a software engineer, by night, I fight crime...err, am attempting to turn wood. To say I'm a wood worker would be a joke as I think right now, the wood works me! Like many people here, I got into the hobby with the interest of making pens and other small gifts as well as I am looking for a hobby that I can use my hands to create (as oppose to hammering on a keyboard all day). My wife and I are in our first home and really, I had zero tools. This of course, makes the vortex even more costly to start up.

You can see my current set up here Turning Group Members (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showpost.php?p=1012144&postcount=4)

I'm still missing a Grinder, Drill Press and a reasonable chuck. I also don't have a table saw, but do have a chop saw which I will carefully be using to cut my blanks. (What are your guys opinions on a drill press for pen turning? Should I get one or just use a drill chuck in the tailstock and invest the money for the drill press into a good chuck?)

I've had the lathe for all of 2 nights now, and I've only ever turned 2 pens one evening at a Woodcraft class about a month ago. In the attached photo's you'll see the result of my 2 nights, the spindle laying down was me trying out my new tools on the first night (which definitely need a grind! Reading through the posts here, it seemed most people were happy with the HF HSS set so I picked that up). I'm just using scrap 2x2 pine I had laying around. The second spindle was mainly a test on using the Skew on the second night. I had never used the tool before but can tell it will have much power, yet will be an interesting beast to master.